Shared Folders

The Shared Folders is an exclusive feature available to all NordPass Enterprise and Business members, designed to simplify the process of sharing and managing items within an organization. By setting up a shared folder, you can easily invite members, adjust their access rights, and transfer ownership of the shared folder. This feature is especially valuable for securely sharing sensitive information among team members during projects.

 

Important: NordPass Authenticator cannot be used to add Two-Factor Codes to items that are saved in Shared Folders. Also, you won’t be able to remove Two-Factor Codes from items that are in Shared Folders. To store items with Two-Factor Codes inside Shared Folders, please add Two-Factor Code first and then move items to the Shared Folder.

Desktop

Creating a Shared Folder

 

A shared folder can be created by all organization members and they can start adding their items to it. The member who has created the folder is the shared folder's owner

  1. Select Add New Folder icon in the Shared Folders section.
    7085A5D4-827B-4474-AF08-3672B9A61BE6.png

  2. Name the new shared folder and select Save.
    B8FADE3B-262D-43A4-9F0A-6790FE0CECEF.png

Sharing a Shared Folder

 

You can share the shared folder with other members of the organization if you are the owner of the shared folder or have Can Edit or Can Share rights.

  1. Open the shared folder, select More Options, and choose Share. Here, you can also view which members already have access to the shared folder and their respective rights.
    image11.png

  2.  Enter a member’s email address or group name and choose the sharing permissions you want to give. There are 4 access levels:

    • Can edit: with this permission, you can edit the items and items in the shared folders and details of the shared folder itself, share, view, and autofill. This also means you can move unshared items into the shared folder.

    • Can share: with this permission you can share, view, and autofill data.

    • Can view: with this permission, you can view, copy item details, and autofill data.

    • Can autofill: with permission, you are allowed to only autofill the data.

      You can read more about permission levels you can give when sharing in our Managing access levels guide. 
      B4317AFA-FA78-4E2A-9415-F160935375CA.png
  3. Select Share.
    C002658E-4E04-4C30-9AC2-16A993E74A51.png

Changing sharing permissions and revoking access

 

Shared Folder’s owner and members with Full Rights can change sharing permissions and revoke access to the shared folder.

 

  1. Open the shared folder and click on members' pictures at the top to open a list of members that have access to the shared folder. Alternatively, you can select More Option and choose Share.
    image-20230403-120415.png

  2. Click on the member’s email address and choose the new sharing settings or remove them.

Moving items to a Shared Folder

 

If you are the owner of a shared folder or have Full Rights, you can start moving your items to it. To move an item to a shared folder, you must also be the owner of that item (once an item is moved to a shared folder, the owner rights of the moved item are transferred to the shared folder's owner. This means that the folder's owner will be able to permanently delete such items. Additionally, password history will not be available for the password items in the shared folders.).

 

You can find more information on which items can be moved to a shared folder here: Moving and deleting items in Shared Folder.

Moving an item will revoke access to anyone with whom the item was previously shared and will share it with anyone who has access to the Shared Folder.

 

  1. Choose an item that you want to move, select More Options icon and Move to Folder.
    14F4C109-913A-4A4F-91A3-08F36A94852F.png

  2. Select Shared Folders and choose which folder you want to move your item to.
    C623DBBC-A4D8-4269-8DC9-35BBA8B1EF27.png

  3. Select Move to Folder.

You can also move multiple items to a shared folder by selecting each item and clicking the Move to Folder icon. 
EA6A1E33-8992-4505-877C-8F0429374E7B.png

Deleting items from a Shared Folder


Only the shared folder's owner (a member who created the folder) can delete items from it. Keep in mind that deleting an item from a shared folder will not move it to Trash but permanently delete it

  1. Choose an item, select More Options and Delete.
    5F91F9DF-F81C-4963-B133-7DC9B06697A4.png

  2. Confirm the item’s deletion.
    B1BAEF0E-D932-4948-9E0C-6706DBC021B8.png

Mobile

Creating a Shared Folder

 

  1. Tap + button in the NordPass app and select Shared Folder
    image - 2023-12-15T124312.115.png

     
  2. Name the new shared folder and select Add or Save button.
    image - 2023-12-15T125113.387.png

Sharing a Shared Folder

 

Only the folder owner and members with Full Rights to a folder can share a shared folder with other organization members. Full Rights to other members can be given by the folder's owner. 

  1. Open Shared Folders list and tap on three dots icon next to the Shared Folder that you want to share.
    image - 2023-12-15T125404.807.png

  2. Select Share.
    image - 2023-12-15T125550.110.png

  3. Choose the sharing rights you want to give in the Sharing settings. You can select one of these permission levels:

    • Can edit

    • Can share

    • Can view

    • Can autofill

      You can read more about permissions in our Managing access levels guide. 

  4. Enter members' email addresses or Group names and tap Share button at the top. 
 

Changing sharing permissions and revoking access

 

Shared Folder’s owner and members with Full Rights can change sharing permissions and revoke access to the shared folder.

 

  1. Tap Browse at the bottom and select Shared Folders.
    image - 2023-12-15T141915.595.png

  2. Open the shared folder. Tap the three dots icon next to a member.
    image - 2023-12-15T142309.347.png

  3. Choose the new sharing setting or remove access.
    image - 2023-12-15T142446.422.png

Moving items to a Shared Folder

 

If you are the owner of a shared folder or have Can edit rights, you can start moving your items to it. To move an item to a shared folder, you must also be the owner of that item (once an item is moved to a shared folder, the owner rights of the moved item are transferred to the shared folder's owner. This means that the folder's owner will be able to permanently delete such items. Additionally, password history will not be available for the password items in the shared folders.).

 

You can find more information on which items can be moved to a shared folder here: Moving and deleting items in Shared Folder.

Note: Moving an item will revoke access to anyone with whom the item was previously shared and will share it with anyone who has access to the Shared Folder.

 

  1. Choose an item that you want to move, and tap three dots icon next to it.
    image - 2023-12-15T154132.107.png

  2. Select Move to Folder.
    image - 2023-12-15T154303.679.png

     

     

  3. Tap Shared Folders, select a folder to move your item, and tap on Move button at the top.
    image12.png

  4. Tap Move to Folder to confirm.

     

Deleting items from a Shared Folder

 

Only the shared folder's owner (a member who created the folder) can delete items from it. Keep in mind that deleting an item from a shared folder will not move it to Trash but permanently delete it

 

  1. Choose an item that you want to delete, and tap three dots icon next to it. Select Delete.
    FB150CE9-AAFC-49D0-9F44-CC40DC16B93D.png

    If you want to delete multiple items, open three dots menu at the top and choose Select items. Select all items that you want to delete and tap on Delete button at the top.
    image

     
     
     
  2. Tap Delete to confirm.