Introduction
This guide will explain how to enable the sharing via link feature for your NordPass organization's members.
Before you start
- This feature is currently available only on Windows, macOS, and Linux.
- With this feature, you can share single items, but not folders.
Here's what to do
How to enable sharing via link
- Log in to the NordPass Business Admin Panel as an Owner or Admin.
- Next, click on the "Policies" button, located in the left panel, and select the "Sharing settings" option.
- Afterward, click on the "Edit" button, located next to the "Manage item sharing" section.
- Enable "Share via link" and click on the "Save" button.
Note: You will have to enable "Share items" to be able to turn on the "Share via link" functionality.
- Confirm the decision by selecting the "Yes, I Understand the Risk" option.
Note: Please be aware that activating this setting may expose sensitive data to unauthorized parties, potentially leading to a security breach.
- If you wish to turn it off, disable the "Share via link" option and click on the "Save" button.
How to change link sharing settings
- Log in to the NordPass Business Admin Panel as an Owner.
- Next, click on the "Policies" button, located in the left panel, select the "Sharing settings" option, and choose the "Organization settings" tab.
- Afterward, click on the "Edit" button, located next to the "Share via link settings" section.
- You will be able to change:
- Maximum expiry time: 1 hour, 1 day, 7 days, 14 days, or 30 days.
- Maximum view limit: up to 100 times or unlimited.
- Verify recipients: If enabled, anyone with a link will need to verify themselves with a code sent via email.
- After changing the settings to your liking, click on the "Save" button.
How to enable link sharing for a specific member
- Log in to the NordPass Business Admin Panel as an Owner.
- Next, click on the "Policies" button, located in the left panel, select the "Sharing settings" option, and choose the "Member settings" tab.
- Click on the "+ Add Member" button, enter the member's email address, and click on the "Add" button.
- Afterward, you can set unique policies that override organization settings for that user — enable the "Share via link" option, and click "Save".
Note: You will have to enable "Share items" to be able to turn on the "Share via link" functionality.
- Confirm the decision by selecting the "Yes, I Understand the Risk" option.
Note: Please be aware that activating this setting may expose sensitive data to unauthorized parties, potentially leading to a security breach.
- If you wish to disable custom settings for that particular user, click on the "Three-dots" button located to the right of their email address, select the "Remove" button, and click on the "Remove" button to confirm your decision—the member's settings will be replaced with their role's default settings.
Additional Tips
- After enabling the share via link feature, make sure your organization's members review our guide on sharing items via link.